Fixing THE Problem for HR

Many times HR pros when confronted with an issue try to fix it from a narrow perspective.  Meaning, if there is performance problem, deal with performance; if there is hostile work place issue, then deal with that.  Obviously, you must attend to issues like this; however, a broader review may reveal a likely culprit for individual problems.  I think most any issue has it’s roots in one trait.

Ego.  This thought came to me outside of work actually.  Here’s a couple examples.  At my son’s school, parents begin lining up in the pick-up line about 45 minutes before the bell rings.   Yes, it is kind of insane.  One day the normal line-up was underway, when a woman in a Porsche drives in and cuts her way into line.  She drove past fifty cars to stop in the front of the school.  Bold. Rude. Last week, I was walking into a local sandwich shop when this guy shoves past me to get in the door first.  Once inside, he started loudly complaining about the slow line and was abusive to the employees.  It took me a few minutes but I finally placed him as a reality TV star in a show that is filmed in town.  I have heard he and the show are a pretty big deal.  Arrogant.  Impolite.  Perhaps more accurately – these people are assholes.

These experiences got me thinking about other times when I was confronted by such idiotic behavior.  Sadly, most of recollections brought me back to work.  Either through day-to-day work, consulting, or conferences the assholes I have encountered have all had massive egos.

One person in particular I know had a revolting ego.  She was brought into a company where I was consulting.  She came in at a senior-level with a lot of authority.  Two things became immediately clear – she really had no idea what she was doing, and the power went to her head quickly.  I was working on HR, culture, engagement, and development functions.  Her main task was to handle the financials and legal stuff.  She made the rounds meeting with everyone, and quickly made her opinions known.  If you agreed completely with her, life would be good.  If you asked questions or disagreed, you would be left out in the cold and branded a malcontent.

I fell into the latter category after a meeting where she informed me that culture and engagement didn’t really matter.  She just wanted people who would be able “to get with the program.”  OK.  Within two weeks, “with her” and “against her” tribes were cemented.  I did my best to be engaging and helpful, but no dice.  Soon, people with whom I had fantastic relationships began to turn against me.  They were “with her.”  I completed my consultancy and moved on.  Today, a year later the company is highly factionalized and employee engagement is non-existent.  Why?  Because of one person’s ego.

Is there a way to get around or away from these narcissistic tyrants?  I am the first to admit that my track record on this is spotty.  The best way I found to counter someone’s toxic ego is to play to their ego. Make them think ideas are their own so they can be the genius.  I always feel like I need a shower after one of these encounters, and a big swig of Listerine to get the taste of feces out of my mouth.  In reality, though the success rate is low.

People with egos will either gravitate towards companies that value or tolerate their behavior, or they infect healthy organizations.  If you’re in an organization that values culture and high employee engagement, ego has no place in it.  There is a difference between self-confidence, and the type of ego I am talking about.  Knowing you’re good at your job is much different than the corrosive type of personality that leaves wreckage in its wake.  If someone like this slips through the culture interview process, get them out before too much damage can be done.  Pay them to leave.  It will save you a boatload of money and pain in the long run.

Oh, the person I mentioned earlier during my consulting?  After a year, besides engagement issues their turnover increased from 10% to 40%, and productivity is a joke.  She is hanging on by her fingernails.  Even with all the evidence of her abysmal behavior and track record, she is as egotistical as ever.  The good news is that the CEO and board have finally got the message.

If you deal with ego problems in the right way, HR may be spending less time with the issues it causes.  A strategic approach to tactical problems.  How about you? Do you see ego as a driver or killer?  Do you do anything about it?

Leave a comment